Thursday, June 20, 2024

India announces 15-member squad for 2024 T20 World Cup led by Rohit Sharma: See the list

Must read

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15-member squad for India for the upcoming 2024 ICC T20 World Cup to be held in the United States and West Indies from June 1 to June 30.

With the tournament just around the corner, anticipation for the squads is high as cricket enthusiasts and aficionados speculated who would make the cut for the competition.

India will be led by Rohit Sharma as they aim to bag their second T20 World Cup trophy. They won the inaugural edition in 2007.

The team will play their first T20 World Cup match on June 5 against Ireland at the Nassau County Cricket Stadium in New York, following which they will face Pakistan on June 9 at the same venue, in one of the most awaited matches of the tournament. They will also be playing against the U.S. in New York and against Canada in Florida.

Learn the game: Cricket rules and scoring explained

2024 ICC T20 World Cup Squad for India

The main squad includes:

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain)
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • Virat Kohli
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Rishabh Pant (WK)
  • Sanju Samson (WK)
  • Shivam Dube
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Axar Patel
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohd. Siraj.

Reserve players include:

  • Shubman Gill
  • Rinku Singh
  • Khaleel Ahmed
  • Avesh Khan

How many players does each squad have?

A cricket team has 11 players that are broadly divided into the wicketkeeper, batters, bowlers and all-rounders. Each team also has a number of reserve players. However, only 11 players can be on the field at any given time.

Which countries are participating in the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup?

Countries participating in the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup include:

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Ireland
  • USA
  • Canada
  • England
  • Australia
  • Namibia
  • Scotland
  • Oman
  • New Zealand
  • West Indies
  • Afghanistan
  • Uganda
  • Papua New Guinea
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Netherlands
  • Nepal

‘We can’t wait’: Timelapse video shows New York cricket stadium inching closer to completion

What to know about the 2024 T20 World Cup

Fifty-five matches will be played across nine cities – three in the U.S. and six in the Caribbean, according to the ICC, with the opening match between Canada and the U.S. to be held on June 1 at Grand Prairie Stadium in the Dallas metro area, and the grand finale on June 29 in Barbados. The semifinals will take place in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana.

England enters the year as defending champions, having beaten Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup final in Melbourne. The series will mark U.S., Canada and Uganda’s first appearances at a Men’s T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, as anticipation for the tournament builds, the ICC announced eight-time Olympic gold medalist Usain Bolt and India’s legendary cricketer Yuvraj Singh as ambassadors for the T20 World Cup 2024.

What to expect from the T20 World Cup? Tournament director says cricket matches will be ‘very, very


General tickets for the 2024 T20 World Cup matches in both the U.S. and the West Indies are available to purchase on the tournament website. While tickets for popular matches, such as the opening match between the U.S. and Canada and the highly anticipated Pakistan vs. India have sold out, tickets for other matches continue to be available on a first-come-first-serve basis. A limited number of hospitality packages for all matches at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium and other stadiums in the U.S. are also available. To avail them, visit or email

$40,000 cricket tickets: T20 World Cup, Pakistan-India demand, drives skyrocketing prices

Saman Shafiq is a trending news reporter for USA TODAY. Reach her at and follow her on X @saman_shafiq7.

Latest article