Friday, June 14, 2024

2024 T20 World Cup: When will the teams be finalized? ICC deadline approaching fast

Must read

All eyes are on cricket boards of participating countries as the deadline for submitting names for the squads for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup approaches.

The International Cricket Council has given cricket boards a May 1 deadline to submit the names of those who will be part of squads for the upcoming tournament to be held in the United States and West Indies from June 1 to June 29.

Speculations around who will make the cut in their respective teams are rife and cricket enthusiasts are anxiously waiting to see if their favorites will make the cut.

Which countries are participating in the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup?

Countries participating in the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup include:

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Ireland
  • USA
  • Canada
  • England
  • Australia
  • Namibia
  • Scotland
  • Oman
  • New Zealand
  • West Indies
  • Afghanistan
  • Uganda
  • Papua New Guinea
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Netherlands
  • Nepal

ICC 2024 T20 World Cup schedule

Here’s the full schedule of matchups and locations for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup:

  • June 1: U.S. vs. Canada, Dallas
  • June 2: West Indies vs. Papua New Guinea, Guyana
  • June 2: Namibia vs. Oman, Barbados
  • June 3: Sri Lanka vs. South Africa, New York
  • June 3: Afghanistan vs. Uganda, Guyana
  • June 4: England vs. Scotland, Barbados
  • June 4: Netherlands vs. Nepal
  • June 5: India vs. Ireland, New York
  • June 5: Papua New Guinea vs. Uganda, Guyana
  • June 5: Australia vs. Oman, Barbados
  • June 6: U.S. vs. Pakistan, Dallas
  • June 6: Namibia vs. Scotland, Barbados
  • June 7: Canada vs. Ireland, New York
  • June 7: New Zealand vs. Afghanistan, Guyana
  • June 7: Sri Lanka vs. Bangladesh, Dallas
  • June 8: Netherlands vs. South Africa, New York
  • June 8: Australia vs. England, Barbados
  • June 8: West Indies vs. Uganda, Guyana
  • June 9: India vs. Pakistan, New York
  • June 9: Oman vs. Scotland, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 10: South Africa vs. Bangladesh, New York
  • June 11: Pakistan vs. Canada, New York
  • June 11: Sri Lanka vs. Nepal, Lauderhill
  • June 11: Australia vs. Namibia, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 12: U.S. vs India, New York
  • June 12: West Indies vs. New Zealand, Trinidad & Tobago
  • June 13: England vs. Oman, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 13: Bangladesh vs. Netherlands, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 13: Afghanistan vs. Papua New Guinea, Trinidad & Tobago
  • June 14: U.S. vs Ireland, Lauderhill
  • June 14: South Africa vs. Nepal, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 14: New Zealand vs. Uganda, Trinidad & Tobago
  • June 15: Australia vs. Scotland, Saint Lucia
  • June 15: India vs. Canada, Lauderhill
  • June 15: Namibia vs. England, Antigua
  • June 16: Pakistan vs. Ireland, Lauderhill
  • June 16: Bangladesh vs. Nepal, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 16: Sri Lanka vs. Netherlands, Saint Lucia
  • June 17: New Zealand vs. Papua New Guinea, Trinidad and Tobago
  • June 17: West Indies vs. Afghanistan, Saint Lucia
  • June 19: Qualifier, Antigua and Barbuda
  • June 19: Qualifier, Saint Lucia
  • June 20: Qualifier, Barbados
  • June 20: Qualifier, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 21: Qualifier, Saint Lucia
  • June 21: Qualifier, Barbados
  • June 22: Qualifier, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 22: Qualifier, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 23: Qualifier, Barbados
  • June 23: Qualifier, Antigua & Barbuda
  • June 24: Qualifier, Saint Lucia
  • June 24: Qualifier, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • June 26: Semi-final 1, Trinidad and Tobago
  • June 27: Semi-final 2, Guyana
  • June 29: Final, Barbados

‘We can’t wait’: Timelapse video shows New York cricket stadium inching closer to completion

What to know about the 2024 T20 World Cup

Fifty-five matches will be played across nine cities – three in the U.S. and six in the Caribbean, according to the ICC, with the opening match between Canada and the U.S. to be held on June 1 at Grand Prairie Stadium in the Dallas metro area, and the grand finale on June 29 in Barbados. The semifinals will take place in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana.

England enters the year as defending champions, having beaten Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup final in Melbourne. The series will mark U.S., Canada and Uganda’s first appearances at a Men’s T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, as anticipation for the tournament builds, the ICC announced eight-time Olympic gold medalist Usain Bolt and India’s legendary cricketer Yuvraj Singh as ambassadors for the T20 World Cup 2024.

What to expect from the T20 World Cup? Tournament director says cricket matches will be ‘very, very exciting’


General tickets for the 2024 T20 World Cup matches in both the U.S. and the West Indies are available to purchase on the tournament website. While tickets for popular matches, such as the opening match between the U.S. and Canada and the highly anticipated Pakistan vs. India have sold out, tickets for other matches continue to be available on a first-come-first-serve basis. A limited number of hospitality packages for all matches at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium and other stadiums in the U.S. are also available. To avail them, visit or email

$40,000 cricket tickets: T20 World Cup, Pakistan-India demand, drives skyrocketing prices

Saman Shafiq is a trending news reporter for USA TODAY. Reach her at and follow her on X @saman_shafiq7.

Latest article