Wednesday, June 19, 2024

US Open Golf 2024: The Complete Major Field

Must read

The 2024 edition of the US Open marks the 1,000th tournament in USGA history. As the organiser, the United States Golf Association has chosen Pinehurst No. 2 as the venue to mark the anniversary. The course in North Carolina is something like the ‘St. Andrews of the USA’, but has only hosted three US Opens in its long history. In addition to Martin Kaymer’s triumph in 2014, Payne Stewart’s triumph in 1999 – just a few months before his death in an aeroplane accident – is of course also unforgettable.

Wyndham Clark goes into the 124th US Open as the defending champion. Tiger Woods – three-time US Open winner – is also taking part in the third major of the season. He has received a special invitation from the USGA, otherwise not have been exempt. In contrast to the Masters, former US Open winners do not receive a lifetime licence to play. A US Open triumph only grants entry into the tournament for the next ten years. Among the stars of the week are Scottie Scheffler, coming of a win at The Memorial Tournament, Rory McIlroy and Xander Schauffele after his win at the PGA Championship last month.

US Open 2024 Field

 Golfspieler Qualifikationsmethode
Ludvig Aberg 21
Byeong Hun An 21
Sam Bairstow Qualifier
Parker Bell (a) Qualifer
Sam Bennett Qualifier
Daniel Berger Qualifier
Christiaan Bezuidenhout 21
Akshay Bhatia 21
Zac Blair Qualifier
Keegan Bradley 11, 21
Gunnar Broin (a) Qualifier
Jackson Buchanan (a) Qualifier
Dean Burmester Qualifier
Sam Burns 11, 21
Brian Campbell Qualifier
Patrick Cantlay 11, 21
Frankie Capan III Qualifier
Eugenio Chacarra Qualifier
John Chin Qualifier
Luke Clanton (a) Qualifier
Wyndham Clark 1, 2, 11, 21
Eric Cole 21
Corey Conners 11, 21
Cameron Davis Qualifier
Jason Day 11, 21
Santiago De la Fuente (a) 20
Bryson DeChambeau 1, 21
Thomas Detry 21
Nick Dunlap 4
Nicolas Echavarria Qualifier
Austin Eckroat 2, 21
Harris English 2, 21
Tony Finau 11, 21
Matt Fitzpatrick 1, 11, 21
Tommy Fleetwood 2, 11, 21
Grant Forrest Qualifier
Rickie Fowler 2, 11, 21
Ryan Fox 10
Lucas Glover 11, 12, 21
Max Greyserman Qualifier
Emiliano Grillo 11, 21
Chesson Hadley Qualifier
Adam Hadwin 21
Stewart Hagestad (a) 5
Brian Harman 8, 11, 21
Tyrrell Hatton 11, 21
Russell Henley 11, 21
Jim Herman Qualifier
Harry Higgs Qualifier
Rico Hoey Qualifier
Tom Hoge 21
Nicolai Hojgaard 21
Max Homa 11, 21
Billy Horschel 13
Rikuya Hoshino 16
Beau Hossler Qualifier
Viktor Hovland 11, 12, 21
Mark Hubbard Qualifier
Mackenzie Hughes 13
Sungjae Im 11, 21
Ryo Ishikawa Qualifier
Stephan Jaeger 21
Ben James (a) Qualifier
Casey Jarvis Qualifier
Carter Jenkins Qualifier
Dustin Johnson 1, 2, 6
Takumo Kanaya Qualifier
Sung Kang Qualifier
Riki Kawamoto Qualifier
Martin Kaymer 1
Bryan Kim (a) 5
S.H. Kim Qualifier
Si Woo Kim 11, 21
Tom Kim 2, 21
Chris Kirk 21
Kurt Kitayama 21
Frederik Kjettrup (a) Qualifier
Jake Knapp 21
Brooks Koepka 1, 7, 21
Ben Kohles 14
Matt Kuchar Qualifier
Min Woo Lee 2, 21
Justin Lower Qualifier
Shane Lowry 8, 21
Willie Mack III Qualifier
Peter Malnati 13
Matteo Manassero Qualifier
Richard Mansell Qualifier
Hideki Matsuyama 6, 21
Logan McAllister Qualifier
Denny McCarthy 21
Ashton McCulloch (a) Qualifier
Michael McGowan Qualifier
Rory McIlroy 2, 11, 12, 21
Tom McKibbin Qualifier
Mac Meissner Qualifier
Adrian Meronk 15
Phil Mickelson 7
Edoardo Molinari Qualifier
Francesco Molinari Qualifier
Taylor Moore 11, 21
Omar Morales (a) Qualifier
Collin Morikawa 7, 8, 11, 21
Chris Naegel Qualifier
Alex Noren 21
Matthieu Pavon 21
Taylor Pendrith 13
Victor Perez 15
Chris Petefish Qualifier
J.T. Poston 21
Seamus Power Qualifier
Colin Prater (a) Qualifier
David Puig Qualifier
Jon Rahm 1, 2, 6, 11, 21
Aaron Rai Qualifier
Charles Reiter Qualifier
Brandon Robinson Thompson Qualifier
Robert Rock Qualifier
Justin Rose 21
Gordon Sargent (a) 18
Isaiah Salinda Qualifier
Carson Schaake Qualifier
Xander Schauffele 2, 7, 11, 21
Scottie Scheffler 2, 6, 9, 11, 12, 21
Adam Schenk 11, 21
Jason Scrivener Qualifier
Taisei Shimizu Qualifier
Neal Shipley (a) 5
Greyson Sigg Qualifier
Webb Simpson Qualifier
Cameron Smith 2, 8, 9
Jordan Spieth 1, 11, 21
Sepp Straka 11, 21
Adam Svensson Qualifier
Andrew Svoboda Qualifier
Hiroshi Tai (a) 19
Nick Taylor 11, 21
Sahith Theegala 21
Justin Thomas 7, 21
Davis Thompson Qualifier
Brendon Todd Qualifier
Erik van Rooyen
Joey Vrzich Qualifier
Tim Widing Qualifier
Wells Williams (a) Qualifier
Gary Woodland 1
Tiger Woods 23
Brandon Wu Qualifier
Cameron Young 21
Will Zalatoris 21

Qualification Criteria and Exemption Categories for the US Open 2024

F-1. Winners of the U.S. Open Championship the last 10 years (2014-23)

F-2. From the 2023 U.S. Open Championship, the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place

F-3. Winner of the 2023 U.S. Senior Open Championship

F-4. Winner of the 2023 U.S. Amateur Championship

F-5. Winners of the 2023 U.S. Junior Amateur and U.S. Mid-Amateur Championships, and the 2023 U.S. Amateur runner-up (must be an amateur)

F-6. Winners of the Masters Tournament from 2020-2024

F-7. Winners of the PGA of America Championship from 2019-2024

F-8. Winners of The Open Championship from 2019-23

F-9. Winners of The Players Championship from 2022-2024

F-10. Winner of the 2023 European BMW PGA Championship

F-11. Those players who qualified and were eligible for the season-ending 2023 Tour Championship

F-12. Multiple winners of PGA Tour events that award full-point allocation for the FedEx Cup, from the conclusion of the 2023 U.S. Open to the initiation of the 2024 U.S. Open:

F-13. The Top 5 players in the 2024 FedExCup standings as of May 20, 2024 who are not otherwise exempt

F-14. The points leader from the 2023 Korn Ferry Tour season using combined points earned on the Official Korn Ferry Tour Regular Season Points Standings and points earned in the Korn Ferry Tour Finals

F-15. The top two players from the final 2023 Race to Dubai Rankings who are not otherwise exempt as of May 20, 2024

F-16. The top player on the 2024 Race to Dubai Rankings as of May 20, 2024 who is not otherwise exempt

F-17. Winner of 2023 The Amateur Championship conducted by The R&A (must be an amateur)

F-18. Winner of the 2023 Mark H. McCormack Medal (Men’s World Amateur Golf Ranking; must be an amateur)

F-19. Winner of the 2024 NCAA Division I Men’s Individual Golf Championship (must be an amateur)

F-20. Winner of the 2024 Latin America Amateur Championship (must be an amateur)

F-21. From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 points leaders and ties as of May 20, 2024. Players must select a qualifying site at the time of entry.

F-22. From the current Official World Golf Ranking, the top 60 points leaders and ties as of June 10, 2024 (if not previously exempt).

F-23. Special exemptions as selected by the USGA.

Latest article