Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Trojans’ 2024 football slate has three new foes

Must read

Cross High School’s football team is set to encounter three new opponents in the fall.

Trojans coach Shaun Wright recently released his squad’s next slate, which shows four non-region and six Region 5-A clashes. Also of note, Cross has just four home games and six road contests in the regular season.

North Charleston, Branchville and Bethune-Bowman are new to the 2024 schedule. The Trojans were 7-1 in 2023 against the other seven teams: Calhoun County, Timberland, Lake Marion, Military Magnet, St. John’s, Scott’s Branch and Baptist Hill.

In 2023, the Trojans posted an 11-2 record, captured a region crown and advanced to the third round of the Class A playoffs.

Cross lost nine seniors off that squad, including quarterback Tyler Mungin (1,878 total yards, 26 TDs), defensive back Cobey Coleman (5 INTs, 3 FRs) and defensive lineman Jayden Middleton (North-South all-star).

Key returners for next season include running backs Karmello Jones and May’Ky Green, a rising senior and rising sophomore who combined for more than 1,500 yards and 26 touchdowns. Rising junior receiver Caden Ramsey made six touchdown catches and four interceptions as a sophomore and rising senior linebacker David Wigfall led the team in tackles.

2024 Cross Football Schedule

Friday, Aug. 23 – at Calhoun County

Friday, Aug. 30 – vs. North Charleston

Friday, Sept. 6 – at Timberland

Friday, Sept. 13 – at Lake Marion

Friday, Sept. 20 – vs. Military Magnet *

Friday, Sept. 27 – at Branchville *

Friday, Oct. 4 – vs. St. John’s *

Friday, Oct. 11 – at Scott’s Branch *

Friday, Oct. 25 – vs. Bethune-Bowman *

Friday, Nov. 1 – at Baptist Hill *

* Region 5-A Game

Latest article