Monday, July 15, 2024

Boston Celtics now have most NBA championships. How many does every team have?

Must read


The Boston Celtics are on top of the NBA world, and they once again reign supreme over basketball hierarchy.

Monday’s win over the Dallas Mavericks gave the Celtics an 18th NBA championship in franchise history, putting them in unprecedented territory when it comes to league history. Even though it’s Boston’s first NBA championship since 2008, it has spent the majority of its existence as one of the league’s premier franchises with its storied history. What’s more impressive is Boston has more titles than 22 teams combined.

With Boston basking in glory again, here’s which teams have the most titles in NBA history and how many championships every team has:

Which team has the most NBA championships?

The Boston Celtics have the most championships in NBA history with 18 after winning the 2024 NBA Finals. The team had a dominant run starting in 1959, when it won eight consecutive championships.

Boston has won titles in: 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, 2008 and 2024.

Just behind the Celtics are the Los Angeles Lakers with 17. The Celtics passing the Lakers for the most championships did not please Magic Johnson.

How many championships does every NBA team have?

  • Boston Celtics: 18
  • Los Angeles Lakers: 17
  • Golden State Warriors: 7
  • Chicago Bulls: 6
  • San Antonio Spurs: 5
  • Miami Heat: 3
  • Detroit Pistons: 3
  • Philadelphia 76ers: 3
  • Milwaukee Bucks: 2
  • Houston Rockets: 2
  • New York Knicks: 2
  • Denver Nuggets: 1
  • Toronto Raptors: 1
  • Cleveland Cavaliers: 1
  • Dallas Mavericks: 1
  • Oklahoma City Thunders (as Seattle Super Sonics): 1
  • Washington Wizards (as Washington Bullets): 1
  • Portland Trail Blazers: 1
  • Atlanta Hawks (as St. Louis Hawks): 1
  • Sacramento Kings (as Rochester Royals): 1

The Phoenix Suns, Orlando Magic, Brooklyn Nets, Indiana Pacers, Utah Jazz, Los Angeles Clippers, Minnesota Timberwolves, Charlotte Hornets, Memphis Grizzlies and New Orleans Pelicans have not won an NBA title.

Latest article